Homeland and Hay bales

I think this city girl got her first chigger bite, but my friend and I invented a new sport.  Hay bale Hopping!

Rules: Don’t fall and break your leg. Just think of it as the”The Floor is Lava” game.

I think the best summer adventures derive from asking a simple question: What would Scout Finch do?

You remember To Kill a Mockingbird, right? You know, that book you probably didn’t read in high school but wrote a paper on? That is actually one of my favorite books. I make a point of re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird every couple of years to remind myself to see the world the way Scout does, with excited curiosity. And to hear Atticus wisely explain, “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view . . . until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”

What I love about The Boot Campaign is that they’ve internalized Atticus’ idea of walking around in someone else’s shoes and learning from an alternate perspective. I put on my boots every morning knowing that all over the world there are thousands of soldiers in boots like mine walking around, and thousands of perspectives I can learn and benefit from.

 So I can hop from hay bale to hay bale and begin to understand why soldiers would want to protect this land, the beauty in it, and their loved ones who live on it.  This is my home, my land, my big Texas sky. This is what I love and need like my life’s blood. Though I don’t have the strength or training to protect it, I  am extremely grateful to those who do. That’s why I’ve got my boots on.

Leave a Reply

